No Straight Key?

.

This weekend I “participated” in the NC QSO party. I’m normally not a contester, but since it’s a local thing for me (being in NC) I decided to work a few QSO party stations. Just to make it a little more interesting, I decided to use a straight key for the event.

I have keyers and use them. But, I like to use a straight key sometimes. My straight key is not your grandfather’s straight key. I toss the 45 year old Bencher paddle over on its side, clamp a big ole iron Bessey  wood clamp onto the base, switch the wires around on the bottom of it – and – voila – a straight key is made.

Now, a straight key does not make for a high score.  Neither does taking most of the afternoon off to go to a park for a stroll with the XYL in the unusually warm weather.  I managed 107 slowish QP contacts, and a few of the rarer counties, but it’s good only to submit as a check log of course.  But, I had some fun of the CW kind – the best there is!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.